Old Testament:

The Pentateuch

The word “Pentateuch” is Greek for 5 books. It represents the first 5 books of the Old Testament: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. Our Jewish brothers and sisters call these books the “Torah”. The Old Testament begins with the stories of creation and the genealogy of mankind. The main human character is Moses who leads the Israelites from slavery in Egypt. The book of Exodus gives us the 10 commandments and the parting of the Red Sea.  Leviticus is the book of laws and spells out the duties of the priest.   Numbers recounts the times the Israelites spent wandering the desert.     Deuteronomy is the book of practical wisdom.